Deadline for Uninsured Virginian Car Owners Approaches

The July 1 deadline is looming for all car owners with uninsured vehicles registered in Virginia.

Under a law passed in 2023, Virginia will no longer allow uninsured vehicles to be registered for a $500 fee. Vehicles can be registered in that way up until the deadline, but any registration for an uninsured vehicle will expire before July 1, 2024.

Virginians may still receive a certificate of self-insurance instead of insurance, but they will have to pay the same registration fees as for insured motor vehicles.

Under a separate 2021 law, Virginia lawmakers set insurance rates between the years 2022 and 2024. Rates will go up again on January 1, 2025.

Starting January 1, Virginia automobile insurance coverage liability requirements will be $25,000 for injury or destruction of property of others in any accident, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident, and $100,000 for bodily injury to or death or two or more persons in any one accident.

This article is from glassBYTEs™, the free e-newsletter that covers the latest auto glass industry news. Click HERE to sign up—there is no charge. Interested in a deeper dive? Free subscriptions to Auto Glass Repair and Replacement (AGRR) magazine in print or digital format are available. Subscribe at no charge HERE.

This entry was posted in glassBYTEs Original Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *