Subscribe to glassBYTEs!

AGRSS Standards Committee Meets in Las Vegas

The Auto Glass Replacement Safety Standard (AGRSS) Council’s standards committee met today at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center. The group gained 15 new members, Sherri Stallings of Binswanger Glass, who had served as an alternate, became aa member ofeplaces Steve Pierick, Steve Coyle, who joined as an individual member, Joel Timmons of Profitable Glass Solutions, Brian Yarborough, a representative of the Independent Glass Association, Charles Turiello, who replaces Diamond Triumph’s Norm Harris, Gene Nichols of Guardian Industries, Mike Schmaltz of the Minnesota Glass Association, Dave Zoldowski of Auto One in Brighton, Mich., Jim Coleman of Glasspro in Charleston, S.C., Tom Lance of Leading Edge Auto Refinishers, Jim Gagin of Sommer & Maca, Scott Riddel of Bostik and Tim O’Neil of ADCO.

In addition, the group re-elected two board members, Deb Levy, publisher of™/AGRR magazine, and Bob Birkhauser of AEGIS ToolsInternational. Along with these, the group added to its board Dan Mock, vice president of operations for Glass Doctor, Turiello, Timmons and Jeff Bull.

Several committee chairs also provided updates. Carl Tompkins, chair of the credentialing and auditing committee, also spoke about his committee’s efforts.

“We’ve given this industry five years to learn that there’s a standard and to learn how to incorporate it,” he said. “That total of five years means it’s time to graduate,” said Tompkins, speaking of the possibility of working toward third-party audits in early 2009.

Jean Pero of Mygrant also provided an update on the membership committee. She reminded the group that every company that doesn’t renew its membership/registration is contacted by the membership committee--usually by phone.

Rodger Pickett, chair of the training programs committee, discussed his committee’s launch of the register the trainer program this year.

“This year we successfully completed a program to register training programs and those will be announced tomorrow,” he said. “This committee will now transition to a broader education committee.”

The annual AGRSS conference kicks off tomorrow, October 31, at 8:30 a.m. at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center. To register, visit the AGRSS Registration desk in the Islander area on the lower level of the convention center. This is not in the main registration area.

Need more info and analysis about the issues?
CLICK HERE to subscribe to AGRR magazine.